Indulge in an enchanted evening of classical music as the South Bend Symphony and Shakespeare at Notre Dame present the second installment in the Jack M. Champaigne Masterworks Series “Shakespeare’s Dreams: music by Mendelssohn, Sibelius, and more.” The enchanting A Midsummer Night’s Dream excerpts by Mendelssohn, featuring the timeless Wedding March, Dance of the Clowns, and more, will transport you to a mystical world of magic and mystery.


Mendelssohn – A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Overture and excerpts


2. L’istesso tempo. Allegro vivace

4. Andante

5. Allegro appassionato

6. Allegro – cut at b.39 (Tempo allegro) to b.60 (Allegro molto)

7. Con moto tranquillo – cut at b.27 to letter E (b.109). Bsns play upbeat to b.109

8. Andante. Allegro moderato

9. Wedding March – cut at b.29 to letter H (b.108). Tpts play upbeat to b.108

10. Allegro comodo. Marcia Funebre

11. Dance of the Clowns

12. Allegro vivace

Finale – (with cut: play only the last 7 bars)


– Intermission –


Sibelius – The Tempest

Prelude (op.109, no.1)

**Suite No.1 (op.109, no.2)

1.   The Oaktree

2.   Humoresque

3.   Caliban’s Song

4.   The Harvesters

5.   Canon

6.   Scene

7.   Intrada, Berceuse

8.   Entr’acte, Ariel’s Song

9. The Storm

Program Notes

Coming soon.


Meet the musicians here!

Series Sponsor

Thank you to our generous series sponsor; Jack M. Champaigne Masterworks Series.

Jordan Lexus of Mishawaka is a proud 2023-24 Season Artistic Sponsor.



Program subject to change.

Calendar for Shakespeare’s Dreams

Getting to the Venue

Morris Performing Arts Center

211 N. Michigan Street
South Bend, IN 46601

211 North Michigan Street

211 North Michigan Street, South Bend, IN 46601, USA