Dvořák’s New World” unpacks Antonín Dvořák’s prediction that the future of classical music would be found in the United States rather than Europe. Florence Prices’ most famous work, “Ethiopia’s Shadow in America,” concludes the Masterworks series. 

Streaming Sample



Alastair Willis, Music Director
George Shirley, narrator 

Porgy and Bess excerpts 


Ethiopia’s Shadow in America

I. Introduction and Allegretto: The Arrival of the Negro in America When First Brought Here as a Slave
II. Andante: His Resignation and Faith
III. Allegro: His Adaptation


Symphony No. 9

I. Adagio—Allegro molto
II. Largo
III. Molto vivace
IV. Allegro con fuoco

Pre-concert Talk

Your concert ticket includes the pre-concert talk at 6:30 p.m. Come early to learn more about the music with Music Director Alastair Willis.  

Program Notes


Jerod Impichcha̱achaaha’ Tate
Born July 25, 1968, Norman, Oklahoma,
Composed: 2018
Premiered May 6, 2018, Commissioned by Oklahoma Youth Orchestra
Duration: 9 minutes

Chokfi’ (choke-fee) is the Chickasaw word for rabbit, who is an important trickster legend within Southeast American Indian cultures.

Inspired by a commission for youth orchestra I decided to create a character sketch that would be both fun and challenging for the kids. Different string and percussion techniques and colors represent the complicated and diabolical personality of this rabbit person.

In honor of my Muscogee Creek friends, I have incorporated a popular tribal church hymn as the melodic and musical base. 

– Jerod Impichcha̱achaaha’ Tate

Ethiopia’s Shadow in America

Florence Price 

Born: April 9, 1887, in Little Rock, Arkansas

Died: June 3, 1953, in Chicago, Illinois

Composed: 1932
Length: 14 minutes 

Ethiopia’s Shadow in America is one of only a few pieces in Price’s musical selection in which she provided a descriptive accompanying narrative. The first page of the manuscript score explains that she wanted it to portray “I – The Arrival of the Negro in America when first brought here as a slave. II – His Resignation and Faith. III – His Adaptation, A fusion of his native and acquired impulses.” Her use of a three-part historical arc to trace the American experience of enslaved Africans aligns with works of certain Harlem Renaissance figures like Will Marion Cook, William Grant Still, and Duke Ellington.

Symphony No. 9 in E minor, “From the New World,” Op. 95

Antonín Dvořák
Born: 1841, Nelahozeves, Bohemia
Died: 1904, Prague, Bohemia
Composed: 1893
Premiered: December 16, 1893, New York City
Length: 35 minutes

Antonín Dvořák was a Czech composer who made significant contributions to the Romantic era of classical music. Dvořák’s works are known for their melodic richness, rhythmic vitality, and incorporation of Czech folk elements, which gave his compositions a distinctive nationalistic character. 

Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95, is one of Dvořák’s most famous and celebrated works. He composed this symphony during his time in the United States, where he lived from 1892 to 1895. Dvořák was invited to America to become the director of the National Conservatory of Music in New York City, and during his stay, he was exposed to various aspects of American culture and music.

The four-movement orchestral work showcases Dvořák’s mastery of orchestration and his ability to infuse his compositions with the spirit of folk music and nationalistic pride.


Meet the musicians here!

Series Sponsor

Thank you to our generous series sponsor; Jack M. Champaigne Masterworks Series.

Jordan Lexus of Mishawaka is a proud 2023-24 Season Artistic Sponsor.


Program subject to change.